Why Is My Lesson Locked?

Updated Jun 15, 2020

There are three primary reasons why your lessons may be locked in your HOL Cloud course. See the sections below for help understanding the reasons and accessing your lessons.

Reason 1: You have not purchased or activated your course's lab kit.

If the "Enter a Code" and "Purchase Kit" buttons appear on the top right-hand corner of the window, that means the lab kit for the course has either not been purchased or the kit code has not been entered. See our guides here for help ordering or activating your lab kits.

HOL - Instance - Google Chrome

Reason 2: You have not finished previous lessons.

Lessons usually have to be completed in order. If you haven't finished all previous lessons a course, you won't be able to move to the next one. Make sure you have completed all the lessons above the lesson you're trying to access.

The lesson  in the example below is locked because previous lessons have not been completed, and is ready to unlock as soon as its prerequisites are met.

Reason 3: Your instructor has set access dates for the lessons.

Your instructor can set lessons to unlock on specific dates. If this is the case, clicking on the lock icon will show a message with the date it will unlock. If a lesson is supposed to unlock on a certain day, you won't be able to access it until that date.

HOL - Instance - Google Chrome

Note: if a lesson is locked but the access date shown has already passed, you probably haven't met the requirements in reasons 1 and 2 yet (purchasing a kit/redeeming a kit code and completing all previous lessons.

Previous Article How Do I Access My Course?
Next Article How To Save Your Lesson to PDF